Football players

List of World Golden Balls over the years

List of Golden Balls. Update details and a complete list of World Golden Balls over the years.

The World Ballon d’Or (Ballon d’Or) is an annual award initiated and organized by France Football Magazine for the best player of the year. In early December 2019, Lionel Messi overcame Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronald to win the 2019 Golden Ball.

This is the 6th time in El Pulga’s honor to receive this noble award, thereby becoming the player who owns the most golden balls in history (5 previous Golden Balls in 2009 and 2010 respectively, 2011, 2012, 2015).

The first person in history to be awarded the Golden Ball is the English legend – Sir Stanley Matthews (1956). At the time of playing, he was called “The witch of dribbling” or “Magician” for his skill of passing ball and passing outstanding people.

With the same 7 players, the Netherlands and Germany are the two countries with the most individuals owning the Golden Ball. In terms of clubs, Barca and Real Madrid are the most successful team, when there are 21 players ever received this noble title.

List of Golden Ball World over the years:

1956: Stanley Matthews (England, Blackpool)

1957: Alfredo Di Stéfano (Spain, Real Madrid)

1958: Raymond Kopa (France, Real Madrid)

1959: Alfredo Di Stéfano (Spain, Real Madrid)

1960: Luis Suárez (Spain, Barca)

1961: Omar Sívori (Italy, Juventus)

1962: Josef Masopust (Czechoslovakia, Dukla Prague)

1963: Lev Yashin (Soviet Union, Dinamo Moscow)

1964: Denis Law (Scotland, MU)

1965: Eusébio (Portugal, Benfica)

1966: Bobby Charlton (UK, MU)

1967: Flórián Albert (Hungary, Ferencváros)

1968: George Best (England, MU)

1969: Gianni Rivera (Italy, AC Milan)

1970: Gerd Müller (Germany, Bayern Munich)

1971: Johan Cruyff (Netherlands, Ajax)

1972: Franz Beckenbauer (Germany, Bayern Munich)

1973: Johan Cruyff (Netherlands, Ajax)

1974: Johan Cruyff (Netherlands, Barca)

1975: Oleg Blokhin (Soviet Union, Donamo Kiev)

1976: Franz Beckenbauer (Germany, Bayern Munich)

1977: Allan Simonsen (Denmark, M’gladbach)

1978: Kevin Keegan (England, Hamburg)

1979: Kevin Keegan (England, Hamburg)

1980: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (Germany, Bayern Munich)

1981: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (Germany, Bayern Munich)

1982: Paolo Rossi (Italy, Juventus)

1983: Michel Platini (France, Juventus)

1984: Michel Platini (France, Juventus)

1985: Michel Platini (France, Juventus)

1986: Igor Belanov (Soviet Union, Donamo Kiev)

1987: Ruud Gullit (Netherlands, AC Milan)

1988: Marco van Basten (Netherlands, AC Milan)

1989: Marco van Basten (Netherlands, AC Milan)

1990: Lothar Matthäus (Germany, Inter Milan)

1991: Jean-Pierre Papin (France, Marseille)

1992: Marco van Basten (Netherlands, AC Milan)

1993: Roberto Baggio (Italy, Juventus)

1994: Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria, Barca)

1995: George Weah (Liberia, AC Milan)

1996: Matthias Sammer (Germany, Dortmund)

1997: Ronaldo (Brazil, Inter Milan)

1998: Zinedine Zidane (France, Juventus)

1999: Rilvaldo (Brazil, Barca)

2000: Luis Figo (Portugal, Real Madrid)

2001: Michael Owen (England, Liverpool)

2002: Ronaldo (Brazil, Real Madrid)

2003: Pavel Nedvěd (Czech, Juventus)

2004: Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine, AC Milan)

2005: Ronaldinho (Brazil, Barca)

2006: Fabio Cannavaro (Italy, Real Madrid)

2007: Kaka (Brazil, AC Milan)

2008: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, MU)

2009: Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barca)

2010: Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barca)

2011: Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barca)

2012: Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barca)

2013: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid)

2014: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid)

2015: Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barca)

2016: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid)

2017: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid)

2018: Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid)

2019: Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barca)